The Bang Bang Club (2010)

The Bang Bang Club was released on DVD on August 16, 2011
The Bang Bang Club cover


The Bang Bang Club is the real life story of a group of four young combat photographers – Greg Marinovich, Joao Silva, Kevin Carter and Ken Oosterbroek – bonded by friendship and their sense of purpose to tell the truth. They risked their lives and used their camera lenses to tell the world of the brutality and violence associated with the first free elections in post Apartheid South Africa in the early 90s. This intense political period brought out their best work – two won Pulitzers during the period – but cost them a heavy price.

Based on the book of the same name by Marinovich and Silva, the film stars Ryan Phillipe, Malin Akerman and Taylor Kitsch and explores the thrill, danger and moral questions associated with exposing the truth.

Reviews & Ratings:

7.0 User Reviews (0)


US DVD Release Date August 16, 2011
UK DVD Release Date UK - Not announced
Australia DVD Release Date AU - Not announced

In Theaters:

Complete Movie Details

Run time 97 Minutes
DVD and Blu-ray Release Date August 16, 2011
Actors Ryan Phillippe, Malin Akerman, Taylor Kitsch, Ashley Mulheron, Frank Rautenbach
Directed by Steven Silver
Studio E1 Entertainment
MPAA R (Rated R for strong brutal violence, disturbing images, pervasive language, some drug use and sexual content)
Genre(s) Action, Drama
Watch Movie Trailer
The Bang Bang Club Trailer
Where to Rent
Netflix Redbox

Tells us what you think about "The Bang Bang Club"